Product detail

Captain Corelli's Mandolin

Captain Corelli's Mandolin

Author: Louis de Bernières
$29.00(NZD)  inc GST
Description
This is a great love story set in the tragedy of war. It is 1941. The Italian officer, Captain Corelli, falls in love with Pelagia, a young Greek girl. But Pelegia's fiancé is fighting the Italian army.
Promotion info

Louis de Bernieres was awarded the Booksellers Association/The Bookseller Author of the Year award in 1998.

Awards

Winner of Whitaker Platinum Book Award 2001 and Commonwealth Writers Prize 1995. Runner-up for The BBC Big Read Top 100 2003 and The BBC Big Read Top 21 2003. Shortlisted for BBC Big Read Top 100 2003.

Reviews

Brims with all the grand topics of literature -- love and death, heroism and skull-duggery, humor and pathos, not to mention art and religion...A good old-fashioned novel." --Washington Post Book World

"An exuberant mixture of history and romance, written with a wit that is incandescent"--Los Angeles Times Book Review"

"Stunning...A high-spirited historical romance...Remarkable."--The New York Times Book Review

"His novel will give pleasure to all sorts of readers. It is also so good that it will last."--A.S. Byatt writing in Evening Standard

"Captain Corelli's Mandolin is an emotional, funny, stunning novel which swings with wide smoothness between joy and bleakness, personal lives and history...it's lyrical and angry, satirical and earnest."--Observer

"A wonderful, hypnotic novel of fabulous scope and tremendous iridescent charm."--Joseph Heller
"It is funny, heartbreaking, and horrifying in its fictional testimony....Captain Corelli's Mandolin, delightful and sad, comic and at the same time nearly unbearable in its portrayal of European darkness during the war, is a tour de force depiction of the triumph of life over evil by one of Europe's great comic writers of our time."--Booklist

"Dazzling....a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens....So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction."--San Francisco Chronicle

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780749397548
  • : Vintage Publishing
  • : Vintage
  • : August 1997
  • : 197mm X 129mm X 30mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 544
  • : Louis de Bernières
  • : English